Skip to content
Home » News » ArcelorMittal relies on OndoSense radar sensors

ArcelorMittal relies on OndoSense radar sensors

ArcelorMittal relies on OndoSense radar sensors for the accurate inline dimension measurement of semifinished steel products

Radar measures width and thickness of slabs, billets, or beams with sub-millimeter accuracy, saving time, costs & reducing CO2 emissions.

Freiburg (D), 20 June 2023 —ArcelorMittal has successfully implemented a radar sensor solution for the precise measurement of semifinished steel products together with the radar specialist OndoSense from Germany. Using the OndoSense apex radar sensors, ArcelorMittal was able to automate and improve the product monitoring even in the harsh conditions of the hot rolling mill with dust, steam, vibrations, and red-hot steel of temperatures up to 1300°C. The dimension of slabs, billets and beams are reliably measured early in the rolling process with an accuracy of less than 1 mm. As a result, this inline dimension measurement protects the machinery of the rolling mill, reduces costs and emissions by reducing scrap, and increases the utilization rate and safety of the plant. In order to further automate and digitalize its production, ArcelorMittal plans on rolling out the radar sensor solution to other hot rolling mills in the near future.

“Our new radar sensor solution helps increase the productivity of our rolling plants for semi-finished long products. Thanks to the inline measurement process, we can adapt the rolling of our products early in the process which has many benefits. OndoSense does not only offer a very reliable and robust product: The OndoSense team has also been very supportive and fast during the integration process,” says Thomas Hilbert, Research & Development Engineer at ArcelorMittal Luxembourg.

 

Modern solution wanted to replace manual measurement

The automated width and thickness measurement of steel products is quite a challenging task in conditions with steam, dust, poor lighting conditions and product temperatures of up to 1300 degrees Celsius. Before implementing a radar sensor solution that can reliably and precisely measure the products dimensions inline, ArcelorMittal measured the dimension of long steel products by hand using a caliper as has been the standard procedure in the steel industry for the width and thickness measurement of long products.

“The manual sampling of the product dimensions was regarded sufficient in the past, as the rolling parameters can be adjusted after taking a manual sample during a new production run. Yet, this manual inspection is a demanding job with some safety challenges, so we were on the look-out for a modern solution to automate this step” explains Thomas Hilbert from ArcelorMittal. The resolution of the caliper measurement is limited to 1 mm and the product dimension is only measured after the rolling procedure to verify that the rolling parameters where correctly set. In case of deviations, it is too late to make adjustments which can result in damages to the rolls of the rolling stands in case of the product exceeding the target dimensions. “We were impressed by the professionalism and attentiveness to modern solutions by the R&D Department at ArcelorMittal” says Axel Hülsmann, CTO at OndoSense. “Thomas Hilbert was the first to identify our sensors for this application and used his extensive knowledge of the automation of the rolling process to efficiently create a valuable system from our radar sensors.”

 

Inline radar measurement increases the productivity of the rolling mill

Using the new radar sensor solution, steel slab, billet and beams can now be measured accurately and early in the rolling process. With a high accuracy of less than a millimeter, the system is more accurate than the caliper measurement. Furthermore, the system provides contactless, reliable measurements of the glowing products even in the harsh environment of the steel industry with water vapor, dust, smoke, or challenging lighting conditions.  For the measurement two radar distance sensors are placed on both sides of the product. Using the distance between the sensors, the product dimensions can then be continuously measured independently of the alloy of the metal products. If needed, a heavy-duty housing actively protects the sensor against extreme temperatures.

The compact sensors can be easily integrated into production and require little maintenance effort. Compared to optical sensor technologies such as lidar or laser, radar is much less prone to perturbations from small particles which are present in dust and vapor - the much longer wavelength of the radar waves being the key factor here.

The precise measurement enables a higher productivity of the plant.  “If the semi-finished product has the wrong dimensions, it can damage the rolling lines and the final product will be out of tolerances. It will lead to line stoppage, time for maintenance and scrapped product” says Thomas Hilbert.  The new radar solution thus results in reduced energy consumption and reduced CO2 emissions.

“Radar clearly has great potential when it comes to enhancing the efficiency and productivity in the steel industry. Implementing the OndoSense radar technology has already helped us to save lots of time, costs, material and ultimately to reduce CO2 emissions. I look forward to further projects with OndoSense in order to continue towards a more digitalized, sustainable steel production at ArcelorMittal”, Thomas Hilbert declares.

 

Video of measurement system

 

About ArcelorMittal

ArcelorMittal is the world's leading steel and mining company, with a presence in 60 countries and primary steelmaking facilities in 16 countries. In 2022, ArcelorMittal had revenues of $79.8 billion and crude steel production of 59.0 million metric tons, while iron ore production reached 45.3 million metric tons. ArcelorMittal’s purpose is to produce ever smarter steels that have a positive benefit for people and planet. Steels made using innovative processes which use less energy, emit significantly less carbon, and reduce costs. Steels that are cleaner, stronger, and reusable. Steels for electric vehicles and renewable energy infrastructure that will support societies as they transform through this century. With steel at its core, ArcelorMittal’s inventive people and an entrepreneurial culture at heart, ArcelorMittal will support the world in making that change.

https://corporate.arcelormittal.com

 

About OndoSense

OndoSense realizes breakthrough radar sensor technology for a digitized industrial world. With sensor solutions based on high-precision, robust radar technology and smart sensor software, we ensure customers get relevant data for the intelligent control of production plants and machines. That way, we are helping to drive digital transformation in the industry. Our innovative, high-performance radar sensors can be used reliably in a wide range of applications - even in challenging environments with dust, steam, smoke, fire, or noise. OndoSense was founded in 2018 by two radar experts from the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Solid State Physics IAF.

https://ondosense.com

 

Media contact

Michael Teiwes
Head of Marketing & PR

mteiwes@ondosense.com
+49 761 79114762

OndoSense GmbH
Bötzinger Str. 60
D-79111 Freiburg, Germany

 

Image 1:

Caption: Rolling mill of the ArcelorMittal Rodange steel plant. © ArcelorMittal

 

Image 2:

Caption: Thickness measurement system for semifinished steel with one of the two radar sensors on the measurement frame. © ArcelorMittal

 

Image 3:

Caption: Thickness measurement system for semifinished steel with one of the two radar sensors on the measurement frame. © ArcelorMittal

 

Image 4:

Caption: Illustration of thickness measurement of metal slabs using the OndoSense apex radar sensor system. © OndoSense

 

Image 5:

Caption: Illustration of width measurement of metal slabs using the OndoSense apex radar sensor system. © OndoSense

Zum Inhalt springen

ArcelorMittal setzt auf OndoSense Radarsensoren

ArcelorMittal setzt auf OndoSense Radarsensoren für die hochgenaue Inline-Dimensionsmessung von Stahlhalbzeugen

Das Radarsystem misst die Breite und Dicke von Brammen, Knüppeln oder Trägern mit einer Genauigkeit im Submillimeterbereich. Das spart Zeit und Kosten und vermindert den CO2-Ausstoß.

Freiburg, 20. Juni 2023 — ArcelorMittal hat gemeinsam mit dem Radarspezialisten OndoSense erfolgreich eine Radarsensorlösung zur präzisen Vermessung von Stahlhalbzeugen umgesetzt. Basierend auf den OndoSense apex Radarsensoren konnte ArcelorMittal die Produktüberwachung wesentlich automatisieren und verbessern – auch in den rauen Bedingungen des Warmwalzwerks mit Staub, Dampf, Vibrationen und glühendem Stahl mit Temperaturen von bis zu 1300 °C. So werden ab sofort die Abmessungen von Brammen, Knüppeln und Trägern bereits frühzeitig im Walzprozesses zuverlässig mit einer Genauigkeit von weniger als 1 mm erfasst. Das Ergebnis: Die Inline-Dimensionsmessung schont die Maschinen im Walzwerk, senkt Kosten und Emissionen durch weniger Ausschuss und erhöht die Auslastung und Sicherheit der Anlage. ArcelorMittal plant, die Radarsensorlösung in naher Zukunft auch in zusätzlichen Warmwalzwerken einzuführen, um die Stahlproduktion weiter zu automatisieren und zu digitalisieren.

 

„Unsere neue Radarsensorlösung trägt dazu bei, die Produktivität unserer Walzwerke für Langprodukte zu erhöhen. Dank des Inline-Messverfahrens können wir das Walzen unserer Produkte frühzeitig im Prozess anpassen, was viele Vorteile mit sich bringt. OndoSense bietet nicht nur ein sehr zuverlässiges und robustes Produkt: Das OndoSense-Team hat uns während des Integrationsprozesses auch sehr effektiv und schnell unterstützt“, sagt Thomas Hilbert, Research & Development Engineer bei ArcelorMittal Luxembourg.

 

Moderne Lösung gesucht – als Ersatz für manuelle Messung

Die automatisierte Breiten- und Dickenmessung von Stahlprodukten ist in einer Produktionsumgebung mit Dampf, Staub, schlechten Lichtverhältnissen und Produkttemperaturen von bis zu 1300 Grad Celsius eine herausfordernde Aufgabe. Vor der Implementierung der Radarsensorlösung zur zuverlässigen und präzisen Inline-Dimensionsmessung wurden Stahl-Langprodukte bei ArcelorMittal manuell mit einem Messschieber erfasst. Diese Methode gilt als Standardverfahren für die Breiten- und Dickenmessung langer Produkte in der Stahlindustrie.

„Die manuelle Prüfung der Produktabmessungen im Anschluss an das Warmwalzen wurde in der Vergangenheit als ausreichend angesehen, da die Walzparameter nach der stichprobenhaften Vermessung der Halbzeuge eines neuen Produktionslaufs angepasst werden können. Allerdings ist diese manuelle Inspektion eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe mit einigen Sicherheitsherausforderungen. Daher waren wir auf der Suche nach einer modernen Lösung, um diesen Schritt zu automatisieren“, erklärt Thomas Hilbert von ArcelorMittal. Die Auflösung der manuellen Dickenmessung ist auf 1 mm begrenzt und die Produktabmessungen werden erst nach dem Walzvorgang gemessen, um zu überprüfen, ob die Walzparameter richtig eingestellt sind. Bei Abweichungen können Anpassungen nicht zeitgerecht erfolgen, was zu Schäden an den Walzen der Walzgerüste führen kann, wenn das Produkt die Sollabmessungen überschreitet. „Wir waren beeindruckt von der Professionalität und Aufmerksamkeit der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung von ArcelorMittal für moderne Sensorlösungen“, sagt Axel Hülsmann, CTO bei OndoSense. „Thomas Hilbert hat als damals Erster unsere Sensoren für diese Anwendung identifiziert und sein umfangreiches Wissen über die Automatisierung des Walzprozesses genutzt, um basierend auf unseren Radarsensoren effizient ein wertschaffendes Messsystem zu realisieren.“

 

Inline-Radarmessung steigert die Produktivität des Walzwerks

Mit der neuen Radarsensorlösung können Stahlbrammen, Knüppel und Träger nun präzise und frühzeitig im Walzprozess vermessen werden. Mit einer hohen Genauigkeit von weniger als einem Millimeter ist das System wesentlich präziser als die Messung mit dem Messschieber. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht das System berührungslose und zuverlässige Messungen der glühenden Produkte auch in den rauen Umgebungen der Stahlindustrie mit Wasserdampf, Staub, Rauch oder schwierigen Lichtverhältnissen. Für die Messung werden zwei Radar-Distanzsensoren auf beiden Seiten des Produkts angebracht. Über den Abstand zwischen den Sensoren können dann die Produktabmessungen unabhängig von der Legierung der Metallprodukte kontinuierlich gemessen werden. Bei Bedarf schützt ein robustes Heavy-Duty-Gehäuse den Sensor aktiv vor extremen Temperaturen.

Die kompakten Sensoren lassen sich einfach in die Produktion integrieren und erfordern einen geringen Wartungsaufwand. Im Vergleich zu optischen Sensortechnologien wie Lidar oder Laser ist Radar deutlich weniger anfällig für Störungen durch kleine Partikel, die in Staub und Dampf vorhanden sind. Der Schlüsselfaktor hierfür ist die wesentlich größere Wellenlänge der Radarstrahlen.

Die präzise Messung ermöglicht eine höhere Produktivität der Anlage. „Wenn das Halbzeug fehlerhafte Abmessungen hat, kann es zu Schäden an den Walzlinien kommen und das Endprodukt liegt außerhalb der Toleranzen. Dies führt zu Linienstillständen, Wartungsaufwand und Ausschuss“, sagt Thomas Hilbert. Die neue Radarlösung führt somit zu einem geringeren Energieverbrauch und reduzierten CO2-Emissionen.

„Radar hat ohne Zweifel ein großes Potenzial, wenn es darum geht, die Effizienz und Produktivität in der Stahlindustrie zu steigern. Der Einsatz der OndoSense Radartechnologie hat uns bereits dabei geholfen, eine Menge an Zeit, Kosten und Material zu sparen sowie letztendlich den CO2-Ausstoß zu reduzieren. Ich freue mich auf weitere Projekte mit OndoSense, um den Weg zu einer stärker digitalisierten, nachhaltigeren Stahlproduktion bei ArcelorMittal fortzusetzen“, erläutert Thomas Hilbert.

Video zum Messsystem

 

Über ArcelorMittal

ArcelorMittal is the world's leading steel and mining company, with a presence in 60 countries and primary steelmaking facilities in 16 countries. In 2022, ArcelorMittal had revenues of $79.8 billion and crude steel production of 59.0 million metric tons, while iron ore production reached 45.3 million metric tons. ArcelorMittal’s purpose is to produce ever smarter steels that have a positive benefit for people and planet. Steels made using innovative processes which use less energy, emit significantly less carbon, and reduce costs. Steels that are cleaner, stronger, and reusable. Steels for electric vehicles and renewable energy infrastructure that will support societies as they transform through this century. With steel at its core, ArcelorMittal’s inventive people and an entrepreneurial culture at heart, ArcelorMittal will support the world in making that change.

https://corporate.arcelormittal.com

 

Über OndoSense

OndoSense realisiert zukunftsweisende Radarsensorik für eine digitalisierte Industriewelt. Mit Sensorlösungen auf Basis hochpräziser, robuster Radartechnologie und smarter Sensorsoftware unterstützen wir Unternehmen in der Gewinnung wichtiger Daten zur intelligenten Steuerung von Produktionsanlagen und Maschinen. Damit trägt OndoSense dazu bei, die digitale Transformation in der Industrie 4.0 voranzutreiben. Unsere innovative, hochleistungsfähige Radarsensorik lässt sich in verschiedensten Anwendungen verlässlich einsetzen – auch in herausfordernden Umgebungen mit Staub, Dampf, Rauch, Feuer oder Lärm. OndoSense wurde 2018 von zwei Radarexperten des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Angewandte Festkörperphysik IAF gegründet.

https://ondosense.com

 

Medienkontakt

Michael Teiwes
Head of Marketing & PR

mteiwes@ondosense.com
+49 761 79114762

OndoSense GmbH
Bötzinger Str. 60
D-79111 Freiburg, Germany

 

Bild 1:

BU: Walzwerk des Stahlwerks von ArcelorMittal in Rodange. © ArcelorMittal

 

Bild 2:

BU: Dickenmesssystem für Stahlhalbzeug mit einem der beiden Radarsensoren in der Mitte des Messrahmens. © ArcelorMittal

 

Bild 3:

BU: Dickenmesssystem für Stahlhalbzeug mit einem der beiden Radarsensoren in der Mitte des Messrahmens. © ArcelorMittal

 

Bild 4:

 

BU: Darstellung der Dickenmessung von Metallbrammen mit dem OndoSense apex Radarsensorsystem. © OndoSense

 

Bild 5:

BU: Darstellung der Breitenmessung von Metallbrammen mit dem OndoSense apex Radarsensorsystem.  © OndoSense